Friday Blog Mar 15 – bedside books no. 2

I may have over-ordered…

My name is Linsey and I am addicted to the Glasgow Libraries online ordering system.

  Linsey books

Exhibit A, my current bedside stack of books

 

Seriously, much as I love a good browse, if a particular book has caught my eye it’s great to be able to reserve it instead of being disappointed not to find it when you get to the library.

I’d been gathering titles that I wanted to read from various blog posts and other people’s recommendations. In January I decided to reserve a whole load of these in one go, thinking they would come in gradually. Instead I have ended up with this pile! I’ve finished a couple but there’s still a long way to go.

Before I Go To Sleep – S.J. Watson

I didn’t really know much about the story before I picked this one but had been recommended it by various people. Basically, Christine Lucas has an accident and gets an unusual form of insomnia where she can only remember things for a day. The next day she has forgotten everything again. The main part of this book takes the form of a journal she writes for herself to read each day and refresh her memory of who she is and what she has forgotten.

A definite page-turner, I really wanted to find out what was going to happen next even though I had an idea of how it would end. My only criticism was that the ending felt a little rushed. Otherwise a good easy read, if a little disturbing!

Bossypants – Tina Fey

I’m not a huge autobiographies fan but I thought this would be amusing, like the woman herself. I was a bit disappointed. It was humorous but didn’t have much of a structure and concentrated too much on her work in my opinion.

In Cold Blood – Truman Capote (currently reading)

So far, so good. The idea of this book intrigued me – a real crime but written in the style of a novel. I’ve only read the first couple of chapters but I think I’ll enjoy this one.

The rest are a bit of a mix but with a definite leaning towards crime fiction. I haven’t read anything in this genre for quite a while but my interest has been reignited by the new Rebus book that came out at the end of 2012. Although by the time I get around to reading it Rebus may have retired again!

Leave a Reply

