Friday Blog Nov 4 – Sean

Today’s blog comes from Sean, a member the LGBT group which started earlier this year at Hillhead Library.

I am part of the Tales from the City book group that meets monthly at Hillhead Library. I am positive that our group is the very first library-led LGBT book group in Scotland, and at the very least, one of the first of its kind in the country. There are about 10 regulars in the group and I think that over the past 9 months, we have got to know each other well. The group is very informal and friendly and everyone is up for some lively debate. We try to read an equal proportion of Lesbian, Gay and Transgendered authors….we’re still looking for a bisexual one…any ideas?! 

I really look forward to our meetings and the discussion, and have found that I read the books we choose in a different way, thinking about and capturing points that I want to raise at the meeting. It has also led me to read books I otherwise wouldn’t have looked at, and I’ve been very pleasantly surprised by how much I’ve enjoyed the book choices!

Everyone has shown that they are willing to be influenced by a strong argument from round the table and I know my scoring has been altered after listening to some of the others. Oh, yes, we give our books a score, so we can announce our Book of the Year at Christmas!

Leave a Reply

